The Leawood Historic Commission was formed in 1993 with the purpose to identify, protect and preserve the historical, architectural and cultural heritage of Leawood, Kansas, and to make that heritage accessible to its citizens for their use and education.
The first 2 photos are of the Historic Oxford Schoolhouse. You can use either photo. The Leawood Historic Commission was responsible for the 11 year process of saving, moving and restoring the Historic Oxford Schoolhouse. The school was relocated from the corner of 135th and Mission Road in 2003 to Ironwoods Park. Iit opened to the public in 2004 following a restoration, returning the school to its original 1877 appearance. The Kansas Preservation Alliance selected the Leawood Historic Commission as the recipient of a 2005 Award for Excellence for Preservation Advocacy for their role in preserving the Oxford Schoolhouse. The school’s companion work of art represents a unique collaboration driven by the Leawood Foundation, in cooperation with the Leawood Historic Commission and the Art in Public Places Initiative of the Leawood Arts Council. Representatives from each group selected Dennis Smith and commissioned the design of the piece to represent the nurturing role teachers play in children’s lives. This sculpture was funded by private donations to honor the importance of teachers throughout history in our area. The life-sized bronze is a tribute to the contributions of the one-room school teachers, through present-day educators, to Kansas society.
Pictured are current owners Kelly and Joe Cannova along with siblings Dan Martin and Roberta Martin. George Martin and his cousin Cliff Brisbois built the shop. George Martin operated the anchor store, Martin’s Finer Food until 1980. George Kroh, Leawood developer, is pictured with members of the Martin family. Leawood Historic Commission has installed plaques at historic site around Leawood. The dedication of a plaque at Leawood Shops, the first commercial development in Leawood, built in 1951.
Former Leawood City Hall building and future home of the Leawood History Museum.
Like this: Like Loading...