Johnson County Kansas Heritage Foundation

Home » Board Affiliate Members

Board Affiliate Members

a. Affiliate member organizations:

The activities of the Foundation are managed and conducted by a Board of Directors, consisting of such number of persons, and elected in such manner, as may be provided by the Bylaws, in force and effect at the time of the establishment of the Foundation, and subsequent election to the Board of Directors by affiliate member organizations, or those appointed as members-at-large.

The following organizations are affiliate organization members of the Foundation.    Each organization is represented by a duly authorized person who shall hold position as Board Director until replaced by a new Director to the Board from that respective affiliate member organization. Pursuant to the Bylaws these individuals shall constitute the first Board of Directors of the Johnson County Kansas Heritage Foundation, to-wit:

Board Officers

Gary L. Hicks, President
President, Kansas City Area Historic Trails Association
5400 Johnson Drive, Mission, Kansas 66205

Sandra Kelly, Vice President

Kenneth Klingensmith, Treasurer
Administrator, Stilwell Community Organization
19800 Metcalf, Stilwell, Kansas 66085

Terry Love, Secretary
President, Monticello Community Historical Society
23860 West 83rd Terrace, Lenexa, Kansas 66227


Tim Talbott, Site Manager, Mahaffie Stagecoach Stop & Farm
1200 East Kansas City Road, Olathe, Kansas 66016

Shirley Brown VanArsdale, President, Gardner Historical Museum, Inc.
204 West Main Street, Gardner, Kansas 66030

Jean Coupal-Smith, President, ‘Trails Head’ Chapter (OCTA affiliate)
5410 Ash, Shawnee Mission, Kansas 66205

Lon Dagley, Archivst, Mid-America Nazarene University, Mabee Library
2030 East College Way, Olathe, Kansas 66062

Jim Ogle, Executive Director, Freedom’s Frontier National Heritage Area, Inc.
200 West 9th Street, Lawrence, Kansas 66044

Kim Anderson, Museum of Deaf History, Arts and Culture
455 East Park Street, Olathe, Kansas 66061

Michael Chafin, Board Member, Overland Park Historical Society
8045 Santa Fe Drive, Overland Park, Kansas 66204

Charles Fritz, Treasurer, Shawnee Indian Mission Historical Society
3403 West 53rd Street, Fairway, Kansas 66025

Bruce Martin, Chair, Leawood Historical Commission, City of Leawood, Kansas
4800 Town Center Drive, Leawood, Kansas 66211

Bruce Daniel, Board Member, Lenexa Historical Society
14907 West 87th Street Parkway, Lenexa, Kansas 66215

Ross Marshall, Member Missouri River Outfitters Chapter (SFTA affiliate)
Attn: Larry Short, 3930 South Jackson Drive, Independence, Missouri 64057

Bob Courtney, Past-President, Olathe Historical Society
1200 East Kansas City Road, Olathe, Kansas 66016


These individuals represent the top leadership of their respective preservation organizations.   They serve to guide and direct the administration, operations, programming, facility maintenance, historical interpretation, and the financial interests of the organization they represent.   It is through such leadership that Johnson County places its trust to safeguard its heritage for future generations to inherit. For decades, the County has demonstrated its public support towards preserving its past through its designated funding of the Johnson County Museum, the historic Lanesfield School, and the 1950’s All-Electric House.  Today, the County’s museum system is being enhanced with its relocation and reformulation as the new Johnson County Heritage and Cultural Center to be located at 88th and Metcalf in Overland Park Kansas!

Creating the JCHTF program in 1991/92, the County demonstrated its understanding of the value to preserve its past. With the 2014 repeal of the mortgage registration fee by the State of Kansas, the County’s willingness to continue public support for preservation of ALL of the County’s preservation groups shall be tested.  Partnering with the County, the Foundation is confident funding solutions shall be developed!

b. Members-at-large

The Foundation Board may elect no more than five (5) individuals, and no less than three (3) individuals, who are citizens and residents in good standing of Johnson County, Kansas, and shall agree to serve on the Foundation Board of Directors. These individuals, elected by the Foundation’s Board of Directors, shall serve the mission and activities of the Foundation to implement and administer a substantial, sustainable and perpetual funding program to support historical and cultural preservation, education, and advocacy within Johnson County, Kansas, thus preserving the valuable heritage and history of Johnson County, Kansas, and to preserve and guard the County’s heritage for present and future generations.

Member(s)-at-large shall be selected by, and approved by, the Board of Directors upon review of qualifications, and a verifiable interview process. A member-at-large shall serve a term of three-years, renewable upon the approval of the Board of Directors, and shall serve primarily in an advisory capacity, yet with the privilege of voting on matters presented to the Board of Directors for determination.   Members-at-large shall be required to attend periodic meetings of the Board of Directors. Members-at-large may be removed from the Board of Directors for due cause, and by two-thirds vote of approval of the Board of Directors. Member(s)-at-large must be a member in good standing of at least one of the Foundation’s affiliate organization members.

%d bloggers like this: